(424) 258-9882


Insights and Tips for a Safer Home

A Complete Guide to a Level 2 Chimney Inspection


May 17, 2023

A Complete Guide to a Level 2 Chimney Inspection

There are three tiers of chimney inspection, with the Level 2 Chimney Inspection being the highly recommended option. The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), an organization dedicated to preventing death, injury, property loss, and economic loss due to fire, electrical, and related hazards. These levels are outlined in the NFPA Code 211 and provide guidelines and procedures for chimney inspections.

A Level 1 Chimney Inspection is the minimum requirement and is recommended annually for a chimney under continued services and with continued use under the same conditions. The inspector evaluates the basic soundness of the chimney structure, flue, basic appliance installation, connections, and ensures that the chimney is free of obstruction and combustible deposits.

A Level 2 Chimney Inspection includes everything covered in a Level 1 inspection, along with a more in-depth approach. This level also involves evaluating accessible portions of the chimney exterior and interior, such as attics, crawl spaces, and basements, using video scanning technology with a snake camera. These cameras allow inspectors to fully examine the internal surfaces and joints of all flue liners and assess the entirety of the chimney system. Level 2 inspections offer homeowners a thorough analysis of the chimney system without being invasive or damaging. There is no demolition equipment required to open doors, panels, or coverings with Level 2 inspections. Moreover, it doesn’t require the inspector to remove any permanent parts of your home, such as siding, chase covers, or wall coverings.

A Level 3 Chimney Inspection includes all items covered in a Level 1 and Level 2 inspection, as well as the removal of certain components of the building or chimney where necessary to gain access to areas where serious hazards are suspected.

The level of chimney inspection your home needs will depend on several factors, including use, condition, damage, and changes. According to the NFPA, a Level 2 inspection is required after an operation malfunction or external event that is likely to have caused damage to the chimney. Additionally, a Level 2 inspection is required upon the sale or transfer of a property. For sellers, a Level 2 inspection may be required before listing your home. It provides potential buyers the assurance that the fireplace is in good, usable condition in addition to possibly identifying problems that can be fixed before the full home inspection.

What is a Level 2 Chimney Inspection?

In some cases, a city inspector may require a Level 2 inspection to confirm chimney integrity. Other indicators that this level of inspection is warranted are building fires, chimney fires, seismic events, and weather events. NFPA 211  recommends an annual inspection if you continually use your chimney and didn’t change anything with it. It also requires that property owners have the inspection completed by a company responsible for venting, installing, inspecting, repairing, and/or servicing heat-producing appliances.

Choose a Certified Inspector

By booking Eco Grizzly to inspect your chimney, you can benefit from our thorough cost estimates and guaranteed quality services. As a family-owned company with highly trained specialists, you can trust that you are in good hands. Contact us to schedule a Level 2 chimney inspection, and together we can find a solution for you.